The History Palette – Undoing Things
So the history palette is next to our navigator here. And it's this little thing right here that if you click it you can see all the different things that I've done. So this is that same Karen Beans that we just did. And you can see all the different steps that I have taken. And so you can see that if I go back one by clicking it so you can see that the beans are on top of Karen. If I click this, you can see that, oh, that's before I placed the beans on the subject or right here, I before I cleared out the selection here's the magic wand tool. Here's me just opening. So you can see every single thing I do shows up in history and you can go forward and back in time to either reconstruct or deconstruct what you've done. You can even do some really cool things. You can create something called a snapshot. A snapshot is to save; it's like a bookmark to save your spot to say you know what? I think this is good but I'm gonna just make sure by saving my place. So down here, you'll see that you...
can do two things. One, you can create a new document from the current state. In other words, say, you know what? I think this is good, but just make it a totally different document so I can continue working on this one. But I've got a separate one saved just in case. You can do that. Or you can go in here and there's this little camera they click on that. Then it says "Snapshot One". So now watch what happens if I go in here I'm just gonna start doing some wacky things. So I'm gonna get a brush and I'm gonna brush over her. And then I'm going to maybe make her a little bit smaller. I'm gonna rotate her around, stick her up there like that. I'm going to, I don't know. We'll just do all kinds of things here. I'm gonna clone maybe her face and then put her face down there. I'm just doing some wacky stuff. Okay. The thing to understand is here inside of the history palette, I can either go back one at a time and say, oops, undo that, undo that, undo that. Or I can just go back to that snapshot. Say, just go back to that place that I saved. It's really, really nice. Now, if you've really messed things up and you wanna go all the way back to the very, very first the very first time you open the document you can just go to the very top, click, Karen PSD. And there you have it. It is back to where you started. It's really cool. I can go back to that snapshot again. You can move around in time. Now, one of the things that is important to note: as soon as you close the image, the history is gone. It disappears. It doesn't stay there. So your history going back and forth in time is only good. As long as the document is open. As soon as you close the document all that history goes away.